fbpx
Hot

Practical Aquaponics Design Course – Johannesburg (3 days)

Practical Aquaponics Design Course – Johannesburg (3 days)

R2,400.00R3,100.00

In stock

R2,400.00R3,100.00

This three day course will take you deep into the life of an aquaponics farmer! Mastering the core elements of advanced design, hands on practicals and developing an operational blueprint are some of the topics we will dive into. Highlight of the course will be constructing from scratch a mini commercial and scalable aquaponics system! If you have already completed the intro course, then you only need to attend the 2nd and 3rd days.

 

Clear

Description

You’ve taken the first step by either attending either our introduction course or another one and now want to take the next step. This three day course will take you deep into the life of an aquaponics farmer! Mastering the core elements of advanced design, hands on practicals and developing an operational blueprint are some of the topics we will dive into. Course content is based off more than 10 years practical and hands on experience in Johannesburg cutting right to the point of what is and isn’t essential. Over the 3 days you will be constructing under our expert guidance a small commercial aquaponics system Note: If you have attended the introduction 1 day course at the farm prior to attending the advanced then you only need to attend the 2nd and 3rd days. Please select the option to confirm you have attended the prior course to apply the discount.

High level schedule for the three days as follows:-

Day 1 

  • 9 – 9.30: Welcome tea / registration
  • 10.00 – 12.30: Core Theory of Aquaponics
  • 12.30 – 13.15: Lunch
  • 13.15 – 15.00: Design principles, pH, temp and system design principles
  • 15:00 – 15:15: Tea
  • 15.15 – 16.00: Starting up of a new system

Day 2

  • 8.00 – 8.30: Breakfast / registration
  • 8.30-8.45: Introductions
  • 8.45 – 9.30: Recap of first course
  • 9.30 – 10.30: Alternate commercial designs – Murray Hallam / James Rocosky / Ichthys
  • 10.30 – 11.00: Tea
  • 11.00 – 12.30:  System build – Aquaculture (tanks, SLO, filtration)
  • 12.30 – 13.30: Lunch
  • 13.30 – 15.30: System build – Hydroponic components (making of bell siphons, gravel bed, airotube bars, DWC sheets)
  • 15.30 – 16.30: Farm tour and fish harvesting
  • 16.30 – 17.00: Packing produce

Day 3

  • 8.00 – 8.30: Light breakfast
  • 8.30 – 9.30: Farm management – Operational blueprint
  • 9.30 – 10.30: Master class – plants from seed to harvest (incl cold chain management)
  • 10.30 – 11.00: Tea
  • 11.00 – 11.30: Master class – Pest identification and management
  • 11.30 – 12.00: Master class – Fish husbandry
  • 12.00 – 12.30: Master class – Breeding
  • 12.30 – 13.30: Lunch
  • 13.30 – 15.00: Practicals (making of swirl filters, general plumbing)
  • 15.00 – 15.30: Tea
  • 15.30 – 16.30: Establishing your markets for distribution
  • 16.30 – 17:00: Masterclass – marketing
Location is at Ichthys Farm, Midrand. There is limited accommodation available at the farm and in the area. Please let us know if you require assistance with a booking.

Additional information

2019 Course Dates

Thursday 30 January to Saturday 1 February 2020, Thursday 19 March to Saturday 21 March 2020, Thursday 16 April to Saturday 18 April 2020, Thursday 21 May to Saturday 23 May 2020, Thursday 11 June to Saturday 13 June 2020, Thursday 23 July to Saturday 25 July 2020, Thursday 20 August to Saturday 22 August 2020, Thursday 24 September to Saturday 26 September 2020, Thursday 22 October to Saturday 24 October 2020, Thursday 26 November to Saturday 28 November 2020, Thursday 16 December to Saturday 18 December 2020

Dietary Preferences

No preference, Vegetarian, Vegan, No Pork, Halal

Completed the intro course?

Yes, No


Billing details

Additional information

Order Review

Product
Quantity
Total
Cart Subtotal R0.00
Order Total R0.00

Payment methods


Payment methods

  • Make your payment directly into our bank account. Please use your Order ID as the payment reference. Your order will not be shipped until the funds have cleared in our account.


Your personal data will be used to process your order, support your experience throughout this website, and for other purposes described in our privacy policy.

Grand Total:   R0.00

loader
You've just added this product to the cart: